Three black women with their heads leaning against each other looking at the camera

Webinar 2/14: Rites & Rituals: Bringing a Cultural Lens to Positive Youth Development for Black Girls

Publication Date: Jan 12, 2023

Tuesday, February 14, 2023, 3:00 pm ET | 2:00 pm CT | 1:00 pm MT | 12:00 pm PT
 

Join us on February 14, 2023 for Rites & Rituals: Bringing a Cultural Lens to Positive Youth Development for Black Girls. This interactive 90-minute training (3:00-4:30 PM Eastern Time), based on the reference guide with the same name, will provide an overview of cultural considerations for working with youth of color, specifically Black girls. 

Service providers, teachers, mentors, and other adults interacting with youth must recognize cultural differences such as age, regional upbringing, and race to successfully engage and support the development of Black girls. In this training, we will explore together why it is essential to destigmatize Black skin, engage authentically, and acknowledge historical and present-day traumatic experiences impacting Black girls. We all must work consciously to not perpetuate the societal trauma inflicted based on identity.

This webinar will delve into strategies for observing, uplifting, and recognizing the value of Black girls’ voices, seeing them as experts on their own experiences and needs so we can support them to reach their fullest potential. 

 

Learning Objectives

  • Define positive youth development and trauma-informed care and how they are pertinent to daily interactions 
  • Identify three ways to engage authentically with Black Girls
  • Understand and identify experiences unique to Black girls and their development 
  • Address the four key needs to support positive identity for Black girls  

 

REGISTER NOW
 

About the Presenter

Ashlye DurrellAshlye Durrell, M.S.W., is a senior program associate at Advocates for Human Potential, Inc. (AHP), a social worker, and a Los Angeles native. While attending and graduating from the historically Black college and university (HBCU) Hampton University, she developed a strong sense for the advancement of the Black community, especially as it relates to behavioral health. For several years, Ashlye worked in Washington, DC, focusing on individuals diagnosed with severe mental illness (SMI) and co-occurring disorders. During her career, she has served in leadership and research roles and provided group and individual therapy. In addition to her role at AHP, Ashlye holds community leadership positions, serving as Board Chair for Learning by Design Charter Schools in South Los Angeles and as secretary to the Board for TRIBE, Inc., a nonprofit organization dedicated to the betterment of Black girls. Her personal and professional experiences drive her passion for the improvement of services to historically marginalized groups while decreasing health inequities.