Suicide Prevention Month

 
SPM 22 banner

 

September is National Suicide Prevention Month. This month, we challenge the stigmatization of the topic of suicide, highlight the availability of resources for people who have been affected by suicide, and promote and support evidence-based mental health practices used to treat co-morbid mental health conditions.
      

We hope to inspire others to raise awareness and take part in sharing information, resources and support for suicide prevention. We are thankful for the huge step toward increased access to suicide prevention services that the transition to the 988 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline brings. For more information about the transition, please visit the 988 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline web page or SAMHSA's 988 web page.

 

Below is a list of resources our Network and partners have developed for this month. To view a full list of all MHTTC products and resources related to suicide prevention please click here.

      

You may also visit our MHTTC Training and Events Calendar and Products and Resources Catalog to access other free training and resources.

 

You can also visit your Regional Center or National Focus Area Center for region and population-specific resources: https://mhttcnetwork.org/centers/selection
      

ttc color bar

 

Upcoming MHTTC Events

person sittingSuicide in America's Heartland | Mountain Plains MHTTC

September 7, 2022 - 11am PDT, 12pm MDT, 1pm CDT, 2pm EDT
Suicide has been identified as a serious public health issue that has significant impacts on families and communities. According to the Center for Disease Control, suicide rates have increased. In 2020, suicide was the 12th leading cause of death in the United States, with nearly 46,000 deaths by suicide. According to SAMHSA, in 2020, 1.2 million individuals attempted suicide. Individuals who reside in rural and agricultural communities experience higher than average rates of suicide. This webinar will address the issue of suicide in rural and agricultural communities as well as identifying strategies for suicide prevention and postvention intervention. 

 

 

 

regi

 


person in parking lotSuicidal Awareness, Response, Safety Planning, and Postvention Learning Series | Mountain Plains MHTTC

September 12, 19, & 26, 2022 - 12pm PDT, 1pm MDT, 2pm CDT, 3pm EDT

Responding to mental health crises and the risk of suicide in a school setting presents unique challenges and considerations for mental health practitioners, educators, and parents. Suicidal thoughts do not discriminate and can affect anyone. Suicide rates have been continuously rising since 2007 and, as of 2017, are ranked as the 10th leading cause of death for all age ranges and second among youth ages 10-24 (Ivey-Stephenson et al., 2020). During this free, three-part series, we will address suicide prevention awareness; school-appropriate response and screening referral practices for youth experiencing suicidal ideation and/or intent; postvention as well as supports and safety planning after the child returns to school.

 

 

regi

 


person standing on dock

Preventing Suicide Among LGBTQ+ People | Mountain Plains MHTTC

September 22, 2022 - 11am PDT, 12pm MDT, 1pm CDT, 2pm EDT

People who identify as LGBTQ+ have higher rates of suicide attempts and suicidal ideation. LGBTQ+ youth, in particular, have seen significant increases in suicide attempts in the recent years, often aligning with the passing of discriminatory laws or policies. While LGBTQ+ people share many risk factors and clinical needs with heterosexual or cisgender peers, the development and implementation of preventative care and interventions should also address the additional minority stressors facing this community. This webinar will provide an overview of the critical risk and protective factors, considerations for risk assessment, and intervention strategies specific to LGBTQ+ people.

 

 

regi

 


child readingBuilding Capacity for Effective School-Based Suicide Prevention | Great Lakes MHTTC

Applications close September 30

Building Capacity for Effective School-Based Suicide Prevention is a six-week learning collaborative centered around the NIATx process improvement model; a structured, team-based approach to change management. This learning community is designed to empower school district teams to create a roadmap to improvement and commit to measurable and sustainable changes to their suicide prevention plans.

 

 

 

 

 

apply

 


MHTTC Resources


 Other Organizations Offering Awareness Resources on Suicide Prevention

Suicide Prevention Resource Center (SPRC)


Action Alliance 

View the Action Alliance's in the #BeThere Twitter Chat, which discussed ways the public can play a role in suicide prevention through the simple act of being there for the people in their lives. Visit their home page for more resources throughout the month. 


American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP)


#BeThe1To

#BeThe1To offers evidence-based action steps on how to communicate with someone that has suicidal thoughts or ideations.


National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)


National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)


988 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline


Prevention Technology Transfer Center (PTTC) Network