Working at the Intersection of Intimate Partner Violence and Mental Health

NCDVTMH and MHTTC Series Slider

 

About the Series:

While it has long been recognized that intimate partner violence can have significant mental health and substance use-related effects, the lack of collaboration and cross-training among providers often leaves survivors and their families without ways to address both safety and recovery needs. Intimate partner violence is prevalent among people accessing mental health services, but often goes unnoticed or unaddressed when mental health providers are unaware or unsure of how to help.

 

This series, brought to you by the MHTTC Network and the National Center on Domestic Violence, Trauma & Mental Health, introduces key issues at the intersection of intimate partner violence and mental health, and prepares mental health providers to better respond to the needs of individuals and families affected by intimate partner violence. Experts devoted the first segment of each hour-long session to a specific topic and then addressed questions submitted by registrants. Recordings of the presentations and additional resources, including an FAQ document, are posted below. Download the series flyer here.


Presenters for the Series:

Carole Warshaw, MD, Director, NCDVTMH and Gabriela Zapata-Alma, LCSW, CADC, Director of Policy and Practice on Domestic Violence and Substance Use, NCDVTMH

 

Note: All 1-hour sessions take place at 10am PT / 11am MT / 12pm CT / 1pm ET. Certificates of attendance were provided to all who attended at least 50% (30 minutes) of the live webinar. CEUs were not available for these sessions.


Resources and Webinar Archive:

Intimate Partner Violence and Mental Health Amidst the COVID-19 Crisis and Beyond (Session 1) | July 8, 2020

 

Watch the recording and download the slides here.

 

Additional Resources:

 

To access additional resources shared during the live webinar, view our FAQ document here.


Mental Health Treatment in the Context of Intimate Partner Violence (Session 2) | August 12, 2020

 

Watch the recording and download the slides here.

 

Additional resources coming soon!


Intimate Partner Violence, Suicidality, and Disabling Psychiatric Conditions: Unique Risks, Needs, and Strategies (Session 3) | September 9, 2020

 

Watch the recording and download the slides here.

 

Additional resources coming soon!


The MHTTC Network has also partnered with the National Child Traumatic Stress Network for a 4-part webinar series on child abuse,
Preventing and Responding to Family Violence During COVID-19 launching on July 14. Learn more here.

Questions? Please email Ricardo Canelo at rcanelo@stanford.edu  

MHTTC logos combined