Native American Heritage Month

Celebrating Native American Heritage Month

Publication Date: Nov 04, 2020

“Being Indian is an attitude, a state of mind, a way of being in harmony with all things and all beings. It is allowing the heart to be the distributor of energy on this planet; to allow feelings and sensitivities to determine where energy goes; bringing aliveness up from the Earth and from the Sky, putting it in and giving it out from the heart.”

― Brooke Medicine Eagle

Our colleagues at The American Indian and Alaska Native ATTC will be celebrating Native American Heritage Month throughout November with a variety of events and projects. Please mark your calendars for the following events:


 

 

Friday, November 6

Special Performance by Indigenous Enterprise

Indigenous EnterpriseThe American Indian and Alaska Native ATTC is pleased to present a special video featuring a variety of traditional dance, song, and drums performed by Indigenous Enterprise, a Native-owned performance group based in Phoenix, AZ. This video will be released on Friday, November 6, and will be available all month long on the American Indian and Alaska Native ATTC website for your enjoyment. 

 

 

___________________________________________________________________

Thursday, November 12

Native American and Alaska Native Time Travel: A Look through our Native History and Resiliency of Our People

1:00–2:30 EST, 12:00–1:30 CST, 11:00–12:30 MST, 10:00–11:30 PST, 9:00–10:30 AKST

Terry Locklear, MS
Tiffany M. Locklear, EdD
Lumbee Nation

Register



Monday, November 23

Life in a Longhouse Village

This artifact-filled presentation will present a broad overview of the history, culture & traditions of the Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) People. The lively and engaging program will focus on Native American lifestyles prior to 1492 when Haudenosaunee lived in longhouses and survived using the Natural Resources of NYS.Topics such as matrilineal clans, hunting, cooking, traditional clothing, wampum & tools used within a longhouse community will be discussed and shown. Connecting this history to modern traditions among the Haudenosaunee will be discussed also.

3:00–4:00 EST, 2:00–3:00 CST, 1:00–2:00 MST, 12:00–1:00 PST, 11:00–12:00 AKST

Register 



Monday November 30

Celebrating the Next Generation: A Panel of Young Native Leaders

The American Indian and Alaska Native ATTC is inviting a panel of young Native people who are inspiring us and those in their communities in the ways they are working toward their goals, and sharing their pride in their Native traditions. 

4:00-5:00 EST, 3:00-4:00 CST, 2:00-3:00 MST, 1:00-2:00 PST, 12:00-1:00 AKST

Registration for this event will be available shortly.



All Month Long, and Beyond: 

Celebrating Success Stories!

We want to share your stories of hope and celebrate the strides being made by people of all ages during Native American Heritage Month. The American Indian and Alaska Native ATTC will share stories through their social media platforms and website.

Click the link to learn more or to share your story with the American Indian and Alaska Native ATTC!

The American Indian and Alaska Native ATTC is pleased to present a special video featuring a variety of traditional dance, song, and drums performed by Indigenous Enterprise, a Native-owned performance group based in Phoenix, AZ. This video will be released on Friday, November 6, and will be available all month long on the American Indian and Alaska Native ATTC website for your enjoyment.