Teen in school hallway

Suicide Prevention in Schools Webinar Series

Publication Date: Jun 13, 2019

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reports that suicide is the second leading cause of death in children and young adults aged 10 to 24. Schools offer an ideal setting for preventing suicide by offering training on how to recognize students at risk, respond in a crisis, and develop programs that promote students' emotional well-being.

In the Great Lakes MHTTC's three-part Suicide Prevention in Schools webinar series, national experts will share best practices for suicide prevention.The series also includes an overview of the QPR (Question, Persuade, Refer) strategy for responding to someone in crisis, and SOS (the Signs of Suicide Prevention Program).

Please join us for one or all three webinars in the series! 

Suicide Prevention in Schools Part 1: The Role of Schools in Preventing Suicide
June 27, 2019

12:00pm ET, 11:00am CT, 10:00am MT, 9:00am PT
Register 

Suicide Prevention in Schools Part 2: QPR
July 11, 2019

12:00pm ET, 11:00am CT, 10:00am MT, 9:00am PT
Register 

Suicide Prevention in Schools Part 3: Implementing the SOS Program in Middle and High Schools 
July 25, 2019

12:00pm ET, 11:00am CT, 10:00am MT, 9:00am PT
Register 

For more information about the Suicide Prevention in Schools Webinar Series, please contact Sarah McMinn, School-based Supplement Program Manager, at Sarah.mcminn@wisc.edu