Advisory Council, Consultants & Partners

Photo of advisory council


As is written in the values and principles of the Center, we draw upon the diverse and unique cultures, ceremonies, customs, and teachings of American Indians and Alaska Natives for strength, wisdom, and guidance. In order to serve in a national capacity, we rely on the commitment of members from across the country to advise on curriculum development, cultural competency, and needs assessment.


Mental Health Advisors

Jacque Gray, PhD, Choctaw & Cherokee Nation

James Ward, MA, Choctaw

Ray Daw, MA, Navajo

John Jewett, MA, Oglala Lakota Nation

Dennis Norman, Ed D, ABPP, Descendant of the Southern Cheyenne Nation

Roger Dale Walker, MD, Cherokee Nation

Jeffrey N. Kushner, MHRA

Jason Butler, BA, Ute Indian Tribe

Kristina Pacheco, BA, Pueblo of Laguna

Matt Ignacio, PhD, Tohono O'odham

Daniel V. Foster, Psy. D., MSCP, Cherokee, follows Lakota ways


Umbrella Advisory Council for NAIAN TTCs

Dan Dickerson, DO, MPH, Inupiaq

Dennis Norman, Ed D, ABPP, Descendant of the Southern Cheyenne Nation

Ray Daw, MA, Navajo

Richard Bird, MMS, CCDCIII, Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate

Joel Chisholm, MD, Bay Mills Indian Community, a band of the Ojibway tribe

Lakota R. M. Holman, M Ed, Rosebud Sioux tribe

Vanessa Simonds, ScD, Crow Nation, Montana

Perry R. Ahsogeak, Barrow Village of Alaska

Ed Parsells, BA, Cheyenne River Sioux Nation

Matt Ignacio, MSSW, Tohono O'odham

Lena Gachupin, MSW, Zia and Jemez Pueblo, and Sun Clan of New Mexico

Jeffrey N. Kushner, MHRA

Roger Dale Walker, MD, Cherokee Nation

Melvina McCabe, MD, Member of the Navajo Nation

Robert Begay, Member of the Navajo Nation

Dana Diehl, Yupik and Dena'ina

Jacque Gray, PhD, Choctaw & Cherokee Nation

Connie O'Marra, LCSW, Citizen Potawatomi

John Jewett, MA, Oglala Lakota Nation

James Ward, MA, Choctaw

Richard Livingston, MD, Cherokee Nation

Patrick E. Calf Looking, MA, Blackfeet

Melanie Johnson, MA, Sac and Fox Nation of Oklahoma


School Mental Health Advisors

Brenda Dial Deese, PhD, Lumbee Nation

Melissa Isaac, MSA, Anishinaabe, Sturgeon Clan, Citizen of the Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of Michigan

Connie Locklear, PhD, Lumbee Nation

Victoria Marie, BS Student, Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate

Melody Redbird Post, PhD, Kiowa

Lana Roberts, MA Student, Meskwaki

Larry Spotted Crow Mann, Nipmuc Tribe of Massachusetts

David Sullivan, MPA, Kiowa-Choctaw

Rebecca Crawford Foster, PhD, Siksikaitsitapi and Dakota 


Ex-Officio Member(s)

Karen Hearod, LCSW, Member of the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma

Juanita M. Mendoza, MS, Member of the Pascua Yaqui Tribe of Arizona

Rose Weakhee, PhD, Navajo Tribal Member


Collaborators and Consultants

Dolores Subia BigFoot, PhD, Caddo Nation

Roger Dale Walker, MD, Cherokee Nation

Pamela Baston, MPA, MCAP, CPP

Janie Ferguson, BA, Cup'g Eskimo

Sunny Goggles, MA, Northern Arapaho Nation

Michaela Grey, MPH, Navajo Nation

Maurine Lilleskov, PhD, CHES, Luo Tribal Member of Kenya

Kristina Pacheco, BA, Pueblo of Laguna

Robert Rohret, MPH

Tom Vaughn, PhD

Star Wheeler, MS, Seneca Nation

Kate Winters, MA

Ken Winters, PhD

Janice Yazzie, MA, Navajo Nation

Janet Zwick, BS



University of Oklahoma
School of Medicine and Department of Pediatrics

Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium
Behavioral Health Aide Program (BHA) and the Community Health AIDE (CNA) program

Comprehensive Drug Research Center, University of Miami
The Comprehensive Drug Research Center (CDRC) is a comprehensive interdisciplinary research center which has been named a Center of Excellence by the University of Miami.
James M. Shultz, MS, Ph.D. currently serves as director. From its outset, great attention has been paid to the facilitation of research through supportive core functions. Core functions of the CDRC include the following: administration and leadership; project interactions; access to research populations; community epidemiology/geographic information systems; outcomes research; quantitative data management and information systems; qualitative field studies; health evaluation; laboratory research; health economics; training/education; proven research technology; and technology transfer through publication and dissemination. Since 1994, substance abuse and related research such as HIV/AIDS have accounted for more than $200 million funding. The center is nationally recognized as one of only two federally funded centers for community-based health services research for chronic drug users.

National Association of Drug Court Professionals
Wellness Courts
Healing to Wellness Courts

Association of American Indian Physicians (AAIP)

National Indian Health (IHS) Center of Excellence in Tele-health


Copyright © 2024 Mental Health Technology Transfer Center (MHTTC) Network