Back

Digital Peer Support

11:00am - April 28, 2022 thru 12:30pm - April 28, 2022 | Timezone: US/Central
National American Indian and Alaska Native MHTTC
Registration Deadline: March 30, 2022
Need more information?
Contact us at [email protected]

Digital Peer Support
Every Thursday, March 31 - April 28, 2022
12-1:30 ET . 11-12:30 CT . 10-11:30 MT . 9-10:30 PT . 8-9:30 AKT

DESCRIPTION
This enhanced professional learning (EPL) series is designed for mental health and substance use peer support specialists/recovery coaches to expand their skills in the use of digital technologies to provide peer support services.  Participants will receive training on: 1) the history and role of digital peer support; 2) digital peer support competencies; 3) how to select digital support technologies including decision support tools to aid in selection; 4) specific keys to digital peer support with a focus on engagement; 5) privacy and ethical issues; and 6) how to develop a digital peer support platform. This EPL will be taught by a digital health technology scientist and a peer certified digital peer support specialist. During the sessions, time will be built-in to practice text message-based support as well as discussions and other skill building activities as it relates to digital peer support.


TARGET AUDIENCE
Mental health and substance use peer support specialists, recovery coaches, and recovery service providers working with American Indian or Alaska Native populations.


PARTICIPANT COMMITMENT & EXPECTATIONS

  • Commit to 4-weeks of live online training for 1.5 hours weekly 
  • Attend one-hour online Orientation on Thursday, March 31
  • Complete weekly self-study learning activities
  • Access to appropriate technology to utilize videoconferencing platform (internet connection, webcam, laptop/tablet, speakers, and microphone)
  • Be prepared and actively engage during scheduled series time


FREE TO PARTICIPATE 
The first 40 registrants will receive a grant scholarship that covers the $350 cost to participate. Once the 40 spots have been filled, registration will be closed.  Due to limited enrollment, if you cannot commit to the full requirements, please defer this opportunity to others.


FACILITATORS:

  • Karen Fortuna, PhD, LICSW
  • Robert Walker, MS, COAPS


QUESTIONS?
Please email Kim at [email protected] or by phone at 775-784-6265 or 866-617-2816 (toll-free)