Back to event listing

Shining a Light on API Mental Health in the Time of COVID-19

12:00pm - May 15, 2020 | Timezone: US/Pacific
Pacific Southwest MHTTC
Registration Deadline: May 15, 2020
Need more information?
Contact us at pacificsouthwest@mhttcnetwork.org

Times: 3-4:30pm ET / 12-1:30pm PT / 9-10:30am HT (view in your time zone)

 

COVID-19 has had a profound impact on the mental health of countless individuals, including Asian and Pacific Islanders (API). For some it may spark an old trauma and PTSD associated with being a refugee or immigrant. Some may experience severe depression due to the loss of a job or isolation from one’s support system because of social distancing. Sadly, there also continues to be the emotional trauma brought on by racist attacks on API.

In honor of May as both Asian Pacific American Heritage Month and Mental Health Awareness Month, join this national round table to discuss the mental health impact of COVID-19 on API communities. While we must address the serious problems our communities are facing, it is also important to celebrate who we are as APIs - this, too, is mental health.

 

This round table is the first of a series that will address key issues including:

  • The mental health implications for APIs, including the impact of racism
  • The relationship between mental and physical health
  • Strategies to cope with COVID-19 and trauma
  • Creating healthy communities beyond the current pandemic

 

Download Training Flyer

 

A Lit Sparkler at Twilight, with Training Title: Shining a Light on API Mental Health in the Time of COVID-19