Back to event listing

Take Action: Implement Workforce Diversity Strategies to Effectively Address Disparities in Mental Health

3:00pm - February 20, 2020
Pacific Southwest MHTTC
Registration Deadline: February 20, 2020
Need more information?
Contact us at pacificsouthwest@mhttcnetwork.org

Times: 6-7 p.m. ET / 3-4 p.m. PT / 1-2 p.m. HT

As our population becomes increasingly diverse, mental health organizations and providers see the value of employing diverse staff that reflect the people they serve. The Pacific Southwest MHTTC has developed a self-assessment instrument to help mental health organizations identify and implement workforce diversity strategies in six critical areas.

This webinar will highlight the importance of increasing workforce diversity for achieving health equity. Presenters will briefly outline the purpose of the six areas in strengthening workforce diversity. Then participants will have the opportunity to complete the tool and explore the different aspects of each area. This session is geared towards those in mental health organizations who are interested in assessing the importance of a culturally responsive workforce and taking action.

 

Participants will be able to:

  1. Explore the importance and benefits of a diverse workforce in effectively addressing mental health disparities for community populations.
  2. Describe the critical components needed to assess the successes and challenges for mental health organizations in building a diverse workforce.
  3. Identify how your organization is doing in each area and overall to identify areas of focus.
  4. Identify action steps to address areas where organizations are more limited and incorporate these action steps into an existing organizational plan (e.g., strategic, cultural competency, or diversity plan).