Woman measuring blood sugar levels

Diabetes and Depression Comorbidity in the Black Community

Publication Date: Nov 03, 2022

Diabetes is a common chronic disease, which affects 37.3 million adults in the U.S., and approximately 12% of all adults age 20 and older. An endocrine disorder with complications such as heart disease, stroke, and kidney disease, diabetes occurs at disproportionately high levels among African Americans and other communities of color. Psychiatric comorbidity, including depression and anxiety, along with rising rates of obesity, contribute to the devastating impact of diabetes across the nation.

 

In observance of November as National Diabetes Awareness Month, we hosted a webinar on November 17 at 12:00 PM ET for Diabetes and Depression Comorbidity in the Black Community. The 60-minute webinar focused on the connections between diabetes, depression, and related conditions and the importance of concurrent treatment to achieve optimal disease outcomes.

 

Recording Coming Soon

 

This webinar, presented in partnership with the Black Psychiatrists of America (BPA), is the second in the FY22-23 Health Equity Webinar Series. The BPA’s mission is to address issues affecting the mental health of African people worldwide, with special emphasis on people of African descent in the Americas.

 

Join us on select Thursdays at 12:00 PM ET (11:00 AM CT / 10:00 AM MT / 9:00 AM PT) through September 2023 to attend these sessions.