Network Coordinating Office

Stanford Medicine Logo


Stanford University School of Medicine’s Center for Behavioral Health Services and Implementation Research houses the Network Coordinating Office which serves as the focal point and provides leadership, infrastructure, and support to the MHTTC Network.
Our Goals
  • Establish a Network-wide approach, based on implementation science, to accelerate mental health evidence-based practice adoption and implementation.
  • Increase opportunities for the Network to heighten the awareness, knowledge, and skills of the workforce.
  • Develop strategic alliances for the Network among culturally diverse practitioners, researchers, policy makers, family members, and consumers of mental health services.
  • Increase access to publicly available, free of charge, training and technical assistance to the mental health field.

What Services We Offer
  • Assist the Network in using implementation science based training and technical assistance strategies that can lead to a more significant impact on the provision of mental health services.
  • Provide the Network with infrastructure supports that are coordinated across the three technology transfer center (TTC) networks.
  • Lead the Network in workforce development activities including activities aimed at upgrading standards of professional practice for mental health professionals and developing strategies and materials to enhance recruitment and retention of mental health practitioners.
  • Develop a comprehensive school based mental health curricula and national learning collaborative.

Stanford Campus


MHTTC Network Coordinating Office
Center for Behavioral Health Services and Implementation Research
Division of Public Mental Health & Population Sciences
Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
Stanford University School of Medicine MC 5265
1520 Page Mill Road | Palo Alto, CA 94304

Our Team

Our Team

Mark McGovern, PhD, Principal Investigator,

Heather Gotham, PhD, Director,

Lisa Chan, MA, Project Coordinator,

Jessica Gonzalez, MSW, Project Associate,

Steven Adelsheim, MD, Stanford Project Faculty

Kate Hardy, Clin.Psych.D, Stanford Project Faculty

Shashank V. Joshi, MD, Stanford Project Faculty

Shannon Wiltsey Stirman, PhD, Stanford Project Faculty


Our Collaborators


Advisory Board Members

Beverly Bell-Shambley, PhD, BBS Consulting Inc., former Associate Commissioner/SSA for the State of Alabama’s Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services Division

Sidney Brown, PsyD, Behavioral Health Director, Navajo Regional Behavioral Health Center

Kathryn Cates-Wessel, CEO, American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry

Darla Coffey, PhD, MSW, President & CEO, Council on Social Work Education

Judith A. Cook, PhD, Professor & Director, Center on Mental Health Services Research & Policy, Center on Integrated Health Care ​& Self-Directed Recovery, University of Illinois-Chicago

Kate Davidson, LCSW, Assistant Vice President, Policy and Advocacy, National Council for Behavioral Health

Shawn Demmons, MPH, Capacity Building Specialist, UCSF Center of Excellence for Transgender Health

Ralph DiClemente, PhD, Professor, Chair of the Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, Associate Dean of Public Health Innovation, College of Global Public Health, New York University

Ken Duckworth, MD, Medical Director, National Alliance on Mental Illness

Tristan Gorrindo, MD, Deputy Medical Director, Principal Investigator of the Clinical Support System for Serious Mental Illness, American Psychiatric Association

Brian Hepburn, MD, Executive Director, National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors (NASMHPD)

Michael Hogan, PhD, Hogan Health Solutions, former State Commissioner and Director of the New York State Office of Mental Health & Ohio State Department of Mental Health

Saul Levin, MD, MPA, FRCP-E, CEO & Medical Director, American Psychiatric Association

Rene Love, PhD, DNP, PMHNP-BC, FNAP, FAANP, Director of the Doctorate of Nursing Program, University of Arizona

Ronald Manderscheid, PhD, Executive Director, National Association of Rural Mental Health & National Association of County Behavioral Health & Developmental Disability Directors

Theresa Nguyen, LCSW, Vice President of Policy and Programs, Mental Health America

Jenifer Urff, JD,  Director of Knowledge Management and Implementation, Massachusetts Association for Mental Health

For more information, please contact us at: