School Mental Health Financing and Sustainability: Using Stimulus Funds to Advance Comprehensive School Mental Health

School Mental Health Financing and Sustainability: Using Stimulus Funds to Advance Comprehensive School Mental Health

In this webinar, leaders from two school districts in the Southeast will join a panel to describe how they and their partners have made innovative use of Stimulus funds to finance their school mental health initiatives.  The panelists will discuss how their current approaches built upon prior school mental health programs and existing sources of financing, as well as how they are working towards sustainability.  They will also share their perspectives on how other school districts – which may be different from theirs in key respects (e.g., size, administrative capacity) – might think about the opportunities to appropriate these new funds in support of students’ mental health.

Panelists will include Nancy Turner of Rock Hill Schools in South Carolina and Jessica Stormer and Fred Latschar of Henry County Schools in Georgia.


Learning Objectives:

  • Identify a key source of federal stimulus funding that can be appropriated for use in school mental health programs.
  • Explain school and school district-level strategies for effectively leveraging stimulus funds to finance school mental health programs.
  • Engage in cross-state networking and shared learning about strategies for sustainable financing of school mental health programs.




Mr. Fred Latschar is the Director of Student and Employee Mental Health and Wellness in Henry County, GA.  Mr. Latschar currently oversees 53 mental health and wellness facilitators throughout all Henry County schools and the district’s wellness plan for staff and students.  He has over 17 years in public education as a teacher, assistant principal, principal, and most recently district leadership.


Jessica Stormer currently serves as the Executive Director of Student Services for Henry County Schools.  Her leadership portfolio includes the School Counseling, School Social Work, School Psychological/Section 504, and Mental Health and Wellness Departments. Prior to joining the Henry County Schools team, Jessica engaged in 10 years of direct practice and supervision of mental health and child welfare services.  In her current role with Henry County Schools, she has over 14 years of experience in designing systems that lead to positive outcomes in student wellness. 




Dr. Nancy Turner, Director of Mental Health for Rock Hill Schools, has also served as the Director of Exceptional Student Education in Rock Hill Schools, Spartanburg School District 2, Cabarrus County Schools (NC) and Union County Public Schools (NC).  She started her career as a special education teacher and site administrator in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg School District. Dr. Turner continues to work in collaboration with a variety of resources to create and implement connections and support for the Rock Hill District and community.  She has had the opportunity to share these innovative mental health initiatives on Good Morning America, WCNC (Charlotte Today) as well as local radio and other social media.



Melissa Morse is the Chief of Learning, Performance and Strategy for Henry County Schools. Melissa leads the academic, accountability and strategic plan work for the district. She designs and implments the systems and processes that sustain improvement for student achievement and growth, systems of accountability from the boardroom to the classroom, and most recently the community inspired path to the future for our students through the strategic plan. Prior to joining the Henry County community, Melissa was the Director of Instruction and Innovative Practice for the Cobb County School District in Marietta, Georgia. As a 26-year educator, Melissa is dedicated to transforming the public school experience for students so they can engage deeply in their learning, find school meaningful and create pathways for success as members of our community.

Starts: Dec 1, 2021 12:00 pm
Ends: Dec 1, 2021 1:00 pm
Registration Deadline
December 1, 2021
Event Type
Hosted by
Contact Us for More Info
Copyright © 2024 Mental Health Technology Transfer Center (MHTTC) Network